Back

It’s been a lovely 10 weeks of vacationing, on-and-off deskwarming and general dicking around. But I think it’s accurate to say that most of us our Back now. Back to school. Back to teaching classes. Back to having no idea what the hell is going on (seriously, ever).  Back to  “Sonsaengnim! Sonsaengniiiiiiiiiiiiiiim!”. Back to feeling sheepishly exhausted.

For me, it’s a welcome return to a routine. Bad things happen when I have nothing to do, nowhere to go and too much any money to spend. I tend to flail when left to my own devices so I can’t say I’m sad that there is a structure being imposed on me.

But this is Korea and while I’m jumping back into a semi-reliable daily schedule, being at school from 8:30 to 4:30 is pretty much the only thing I can count on. A phonecall from a coworker late Sunday afternoon revealed that come Monday morning, I would have new grades to teach, new books to teach from, and different teachers to teach with. K…

Don Draper says, "What were you expecting?"

I think most people can relate: If you were feeling happy, comfortable and/or like you may have adapted after 6+ months, this week Korea slapped you in your face and called you a Waygook Fool!

But at least it’s the same for everyone. In that way Korea is consistent in its inconsistency. Korean Public School System’s mission statement reads something like,Lucky for me, I think this has resulted in changes for the better. Good-bye Lazy, Meanie Preggo Coteachers! Hello Friendlies who are aware that I am sitting at the table like a mute because I can’t speak Korean! It’s nice to be noticed.

I guess what I’m sayin (Warning: Please Don’t Choke on this Daily Dose of Positivity) is it’s good to be back and to have a purpose, and it’s nice that this year looks like it might be better than last (which wasn’t really bad). I hope that all my fellow waygooks find themselves in similarly improved situations and that the 2011 school year rocks the hardest! Cheers, y’all.

3 responses to “Back

  1. Putting yourself out there is a hard thing to do. I know this. I suggest you learn Tae Kwon Do and you will immediately be loved by all Koreans. I learned to drink wine speak small amounts of French and they seem to not hate me. 🙂

  2. Some old dude who never spoke to me retired and some hottie started working who tries (and often fails) to speak with me. Woot!

Leave a Reply

